The building that houses the Fenton Museum and Historical Society (pictured above), was built in 1900 by A.J. Phillips
for his personal office. He had a factory on the next block, that made wooden snowshovels, ironing boards, screen windows
and doors. He died in 1904 and left the building to the city to be used as a library. The A.J. Phillips Library was started
in 1906. In 1987 when the library needed a bigger building, they moved over to the old Post Office building. The museum
then moved in. It features Queen Anne architecture, and the Victorian room still has some the original items
contained in it, including A.J. Phillips desk.
The Fenton Historical Society becomes Official:
From the Fenton Courier, Feb 14, 1936.
Charlie Damon called a meeting to organize a Fenton Historical Society to co-operate with the Genesee County Historical
Society. The meeting was held at the law office of Maurice Matthews on Feb 15, at 7:30 PM, 1936. Election of officers were
held, President was Dr. M.B. Smith, First vice president was Harry Lemen, 2nd vice president was JC Peck, Secretary, Treasurer
was C.A. Damon.
We are rushing around trying to get things online here, stop into the forum to see our updates
on what we are working on, and post a message yourself, we would love to hear from you!
We are proud to announce certain changes that have recently been made to the building.
The research room which houses hundreds of books, photos, family history, vital record transcriptions and many more items,
has just been remodeled. An extra three feet was added to the room, and new bookshelfs and filing cabinets have been installed.
A new table and chairs, and lighting has now replaced the old. We are very proud to say we now have a computer installed which
is being filled with research data, for easy access to information.